Category Archives: Entertainment

Star Trek: TNG in One Week

A number of years ago I watched through the entire Star Trek: The Next Generation show for the nth time, this time taking notes. I concluded that, like  many shows, there are some excellent episodes, a few stinkers, and a lot of merely adequate in between.

TV Gems

I used to treat this as a shameful secret, but a few years ago I came out with the truth: I love to watch TV. As apparently lots of folks have extra time on their hands [I’m writing this up during the early days of the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020], I thought this was a good time to… Read More »

Science audio books

I replaced NPR news with audio books in my morning routine when, in 2019, I decided the news was a depressing way to start my day. I decided to focus my listening to non-fiction, and, at least at first, science books. This post lists what I’ve been listening to.

Heroes and Artists

I don’t agree with the heroization of entertainers, athletes, lucky survivors, and the strong-willed handicapped. If you’ve scored a bunch of touchdowns, performed in a great film, survived a devastating attack, or managed to walk despite the odds: that’s super! It’s fantastic, and in many cases it is even downright inspiring. But that does’t make you a hero.… Read More »

Interstitial Music on NPR

Have you ever heard an NPR feed that has little or no local stuff added to it? It is awesome! There are little nuggets of nice little interesting or heart-warming mini-stories, and also an eclectic mix of gorgeous instrumental music: some classical, some, blues, jazz, funky, or whatever. These musical interludes are perfectly programmed interstitials between the stories,… Read More »

Noticing the Wonder

About five years after we moved to our home in Beaverton, Oregon, and then for maybe 5 years after that, the tree just across the street was a starling tree. Hundreds and hundreds of the local starlings would congregate in this tree every afternoon in the spring and fall…

Yes, I am a Font Snob

I’m picky about fonts. My livelihood is all about the written word, so I get pretty focused on the use and presentation of the words and language I see around me. I’ve been recoiling in horror at the horrible use and misuse of fonts since the early days of the newest desktop publishing programs, when the ability to… Read More »

On Meeting Philip Glass

Anybody who knows me even in the slightest knows that I’m just a tad partial to the music of Philip Glass. Last winter I went to a Portland performance of his “Dracula,” performed by the Kronos Quartet with Phil playing the second keyboard, (a part he later added to the piece just for himself so he could perform… Read More »

The Gentleviewer’s Obsessive Guide to Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Written for students and fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the book is an exhaustive listing of the cultural references that pop up throughout the show, peppered with trivia, music, episode cross-references, and more. It provides hours of trivia-obsession for fans of Buffy, Willow, Xander, Spike, Angel, and the rest of the Sunnydale residents.